Hit-and-run driver kills woman in my UWS block

Killer car with apparent blood stain.

UPDATE: Please click on New York Daily News link below.

A woman described as in her 60s died when she was hit crossing 93rd Street west of Columbus Avenue shortly after 4 p.m. today.

 

The apparent point of impact.

Let me say at the outset that I have no primary sources for the information I have, just a cellphone video from my doorman of the driver being arrested and reports from journalists on the scene.

Perhaps the most shocking part of the story is what the driver, a woman, kept repeating after her car was somehow stopped at the other end of the block, in front of my building on the southeast corner of Amsterdam Avenue.  On the video, she clearly yelled:

It was my light.  It was my light.

The victim was said to have been thrown over the car’s hood and seems to have struck the left rear of the vehicle before landing on the street with blood streaming from her head.  She was described as being in her 60s.

Witnesses to the deadly accident ran after the sedan shouting “Stop that car!”

The scene outside my building.

It seems that the vehicle, which witnesses told reporters, sped west on 93rd Street had to stop before reaching the intersection of Amsterdam Avenue, probably blocked by another car waiting for the light to change from red.

As I write this post, there are quite a few police officers and several vehicles outside my living room window, and the vehicle remains isolated by yellow tape, as you can see above.

I am certain you will see far more comprehensive and reliable reports at least in the New York Daily News and New York Post.  Since my doorman was able to sell his video, you may well see the arrest on TV.

Subscribe by Email

Malcolm Carter
Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker
Senior Vice President
Charles Rutenberg Realty
127 E. 56th Street
New York, NY 10022

M: 347-886-0248
F: 347-438-3201

Malcolm@ServiceYouCanTrust.com
Web site

Leave a Reply

