The High Road: Who profits from lazy listing broker who just can’t be bothered to do her job?

Why work when you can rest? (Flickr photo by Darkumber)

After a buyer asked me some questions about a brand-new Upper West Side listing that I had sent him, the logical thing to do was call the broker for the answers that I couldn’t find online.

Among other things, my client wanted to know details of the pied-à-terre policy, what items in the co-op would be included in the sale, which side of the entrance the second-floor unit occupied and the view outside the second bedroom.

Easy questions, which I posed to the broker–whom I’ll call Victoria–when she finally returned my e-mail and phone message.

It was Friday. I already was committed for the the time period of the open house on Sunday, so I wouldn’t be able to see the place myself then. But I felt an obligation to get answers as quickly as possible.

Immediately after Victoria and I exchanged greetings, she asked me, because of my last name, whether I was black. To say I was taken aback would be putting it mildly, but I have to acknowledge that she meant the question only as an icebreaker, albeit an incredibly insensitive and (superficially) illegal one. (I can’t explain why, so you’ll have to trust me.)

I learned from Victoria that she had lived in the low-rise building for something like 25 years and, in fact, had been president of the board at one point. She moved out a couple of years ago to, as she put it, “downsize.”

At any rate, she debated with herself for a good minute or two before tentatively indicating which side of the entrance is the co-op. Then she confessed that she hadn’t noticed the view outside the second bedroom,what standards the board used for accepting pieds-à-terre (case-by-case was her default), or what the seller would leave behind such as window treatments and a tall bookcase.

When I explained that I couldn’t attend her open house, I asked whether there was a chance I could stop by Saturday. Well, she allowed, she had to go there with her “boyfriend” with a mirror on Saturday. But, she continued, she couldn’t be sure when.

Fine, I replied, I live nearby. Just give me call.

Sure, she responded.

That was the last time I heard from Victoria until her second open house more than a week later. No answers to my questions, no chance to see the place before the subsequent open house, there being none scheduled for brokers–as is common for a new listing–in the interval. There seemed to be no point in calling before that next Sunday.

When I got to that second showing and reminded Victoria of my call, receiving a blank stare in return before I explained, she said she had received “5,000 calls” as an explanation for her silence. Since she then was busy with prospective buyers, I didn’t press for answers to my questions.

She was still busy with prospects when it was time for me to leave, so I handed her my card and said, none too nicely, “Here’s my card; maybe it will help you remember to call me.”

So she did. Later that evening.

Fortunately, I had discovered that the apartment would not suit my client, and he agreed. It’s fortunate because I’d rather not be saddled with a lazy broker who leaves all the work to the other side.

And please know that my issue with Victoria is not just that I view her lack of knowledge as irresponsible and her lack of responsiveness as rude. If she is required by law to represent her client’s best interests, how does turning off a hot prospect meet the high standard to which all of us should be, and rarely are, held?

Moreover, I can’t help but wonder whether her silence may have had something to do with a hope for handling both sides of the transaction, thereby doubling her commission via what is known as a “direct deal.”  No, that never happens, does it?

Subscribe by Email

Malcolm Carter
Licensed Associate Real Estate Broker
Senior Vice President
Charles Rutenberg Realty
127 E. 56th Street
New York, NY 10022

M: 347-886-0248
F: 347-438-3201

Malcolm@ServiceYouCanTrust.com
Web site

Leave a Reply

