The High Road: Meet the worst broker ever

This is the first part of a three-part series about my interactions with a listing broker whose level of professionalism astonished me.

Some brokers really tick me off. (Flickr photo by feastoffun.com)

Communication between me and the listing broker I’ll call Nathaniel began after the buyer I represented e-mailed him directly.

The buyer is someone I’ll call Ben, who is a regular reader of my blog. He spotted the listing on Streeteasy.com and, contrary to my prior advice about contacting other brokers himself, began an extended correspondence.

About the listing: It indicated that the property below 14th Street was an HDFC (income limited) condop with three bedrooms and two baths. The asking price was between $500,000 and $1 million. (I’m purposely being vague so as to protect the broker’s identity since doing so would be an ethical lapse.)

Ben wanted to know why the listing reported two baths while the floor plan showed only one.  He also asked in the same e-mail whether the board would permit a pied-à-terre.

“Sorry,” the broker responded without explanation for the error, saying that one bath was correct.

He ignored Continue reading